The Apache Software Foundation
The Apache Software Foundation Incubator

Superset Project Incubation Status

This page tracks the project status, incubator-wise. For more general project status, look on the project website.

The Superset project graduated on 2020-11-19

Description

Superset is an enterprise-ready web application for data exploration, data visualization and dashboarding.

News

  • 2017-05-02 Project enters incubation.
  • ...
  • 2019-08-28 Release Apache Superset (incubating) version 0.34.0
  • 2019-08-30 New Superset committer Erik Ritter
  • 2019-09-27 New Superset committer & PPMC Daniel Gaspar
  • 2019-11-18 Release Apache Superset (incubating) version 0.35.0
  • 2020-01-02 New committer and PMC member: Craig Rueda
  • 2020-01-31 >New PPMC member Ville Brofeldt
  • 2020-02-26 >New committer & PPMC member: Evan Rusackas
  • 2020-05-13 >New IPMC member Bogdan Kyryliuk
  • 2020-05-26 >Apache Superset (Incubating) version 0.36.0 Released
  • 2020-06-25 >New committer and PPMC member: Will Barrett, Jesse Yang
  • 2020-06-25 >New committer and PPMC member: Will Barrett, Jesse Yang

Project info

  • link to the project status file (Committers,non-incubation action items,project resources, etc)

If the project website and code repository are not yet setup, use the following table:

item type reference
Website www http://superset.incubator.apache.org/
. wiki https://github.com/apache/incubator-superset/wiki
Mailing list dev dev@superset.incubator.apache.org
. commits commits@superset.incubator.apache.org
Bug tracking . Jira: Superset
Source code GIT https://github.com/apache/incucator-superset.git
Mentors felixcheung Felix Cheungn
. jim Jim Jagielski
PPMC Members Maxime Beauchemin maximebeauchemin
. Aaron Suddjian suddjian
. Beto Dealmeida beto
. Bogdan Kyryliuk bkyryliuk
. Chris Williams ccwilliams
. Craig Rueda craigrueda
. Daniel Gaspar dpgaspar
. Erik Ritter erikrit
. Evan Rusackas rusackas
. Grace Guo graceguo
. Jeff Feng jfeng
. Jesse Yang yjc
. John Bodley johnbodley
. Krist Wongsuphasawat kristw
. Michelle Thomas michellet
. Nishant Bangarwa nishant
. Tai Dupree tai
. Ville Brofeldt villebro
. Will Barrett willbarrett
Committers Sylvia Tomiyama stomiyama
. Fabian Menges fabs
. Hugh Miles hugh
. Kim Truong ktruong
. Serena Jiang serena
. Slim Bouguerra bslim
. Timi Fasubaa timi
. Vyl Chiang vyl
Champions srinivas javvadi javvadi.sreenu@gmail.com
. Karen Palacio karen.palacio@kunan.com.ar
. Christopher Wakare chris@intelliconnect-tech.com
. Moacy Barros moacybarros@gmail.com
. Gianni Jacklone gianni.jacklone@gmail.com
. vikas madaan vikas.madaan@ril.com
. Ian Duncanson ian.duncanson@honeywell.com
. Nuredin Mahemmud lenuredin@gmail.com
. Warley Carvalho warleyc2009@gmail.com
. Kazim Meraj kazim.meraj@mi-c3.com
. Zuzana Vejrazkova zuzana.vejrazkova@airbnb.com
. Hyram Du hyram.du@appzen.com
. gaston fortuny gastonfortuny@gmail.com
. Matt Langeman matt@langeman.net
. Blair Shane blairrshane@gmail.com
. Brandon Janes brandon.janes@kunan.com.ar
. Abdullah Solangi abdullah.solangi@ecoenergyfinance.org
. Florencia Alonso florencia.alonso@kunan.com.ar
. Bhargav Kowshik bhargav.kowshik@gmail.com
. Steven Suting steven.suting@gmail.com
. Patrick Pichler pichlerpa@gmx.at
. Nuno Heli Beires heli88@gmail.com
. Nguyen Duc vanduc.dn@gmail.com
. eugenia moreno eugenia@preset.io
. Juan Ignacio Gozzer juanignaciogozzer@gmail.com
. Amit Miran amit.miran@nielsen.com
. Ali Cirik aliavni@gmail.com
. Daniel Robins daniel.robins@kunan.com.ar
. mengdie zhuang zmdivy90@gmail.com
. jack pearson jack@sectorinsight.com.au
. Kris OSWALT koswalt@communitysystemsfoundation.org
. Austin Bennett austin@dish.com
. Gaurav Agrawal agrawalgaurav1999@gmail.com
. Jonatan Emanuel Alvarez jonatan.alvarez@kunan.com.ar
. Diego Tondo diego.tondo@cintelink.com.ar
. Vishal Jagtap jagtap.vishal30@gmail.com
. Lenin Abigaba Kahanga leninkaha@gmail.com
. Roger Kaufmann roger.ka85@gmail.com

Incubation status reports

Incubation work items

Project Setup

This is the first phase on incubation, needed to start the project at Apache.

Item assignment is shown by the Apache id. Completed tasks are shown by the completion date (YYYY-MM-dd).

Identify the project to be incubated

date item
2019-12-03 Make sure that the requested project name does not already exist. PODLINGNAMESEARCH-173

Infrastructure

date item
2017-05-21 Ask infrastructure to set up and archive mailing lists
2017-05-26 Mailing lists created.
2017-05-30 Ask infrastructure to create Jira project.
2017-05-30 Jira project created. https://issues.apache.org/jira/projects/SUPERSET/issues/SUPERSET-10?filter=allopenissues
2017-05-21 Migrate the project to our infrastructure.

Mentor-related responsibility/oversight

date item
2020-08-07 Subscribe all Mentors on the pmc and general lists.
2020-08-07 Give all Mentors access to the incubator SVN repository. (to be done by the Incubator PMC chair or an Incubator PMC Member wih karma for the authorizations file)
2020-08-07 Tell Mentors to track progress in the file 'incubator/projects/{project.name}.html'
date item
2020-08-07 Check and make sure that the papers that transfer rights to the ASF been received. It is only necessary to transfer rights for the package, the core code, and any new code produced by the project.

https://whimsy.apache.org/pods/project/superset

2020-08-07 Check and make sure that the files that have been donated have been updated to reflect the new ASF copyright.

Verify distribution rights

date item
2020-09-01 Check and make sure that for all code included with the distribution that is not under the Apache license, we have the right to combine with Apache-licensed code and redistribute.
2020-09-01 Check and make sure that all source code distributed by the project is covered by one or more of the following approved licenses: Apache, BSD, Artistic, MIT/X, MIT/W3C, MPL 1.1, or something with essentially the same terms.

Establish a list of active committers

date item
2020-08-06 Check that all active committers have submitted a contributors agreement.
2020-08-06 Add all active committers in the STATUS file.
2020-08-06. Ask root for the creation of committers' accounts on people.apache.org.

Project specific

Add project specific tasks here.

Incubation

These action items have to be checked for during the whole incubation process.

These items are not to be signed as done during incubation, as they may change during incubation. They are to be looked into and described in the status reports and completed in the request for incubation signoff.

Collaborative Development

  • Have all of the active long-term volunteers been identified and acknowledged as committers on the project?
  • Are there three or more independent committers? (The legal definition of independent is long and boring, but basically it means that there is no binding relationship between the individuals, such as a shared employer, that is capable of overriding their free will as individuals, directly or indirectly.)
  • Are project decisions being made in public by the committers?
  • Are the decision-making guidelines published and agreed to by all of the committers? (see SIP-0

Licensing awareness

  • Are all licensing, trademark, credit issues being taken care of and acknowleged by all committers?

Project Specific

Exit

Things to check for before voting the project out.

Organizational acceptance of responsibility for the project

  • If graduating to an existing PMC, has the PMC voted to accept it?
  • If graduating to a new PMC, has the board voted to accept it?

Incubator sign-off

  • Has the Incubator decided that the project has accomplished all of the above tasks?